Spring 2021 STEM Teaching & Learning Courses, Workshops & Events

By on January 28, 2021

 


CIRTL Newsletter Header

Registration is open for CIRTL's Spring 2021 online programming. While some programming is already at capacity, our online courses, several workshops, and event series are still open for registration.
Beyond CIRTL, registration is open for a January 22 panel on building shared values to foster equitable and inclusive teaching. The NSF INCLUDES Aspire Alliance
is hosting the panel; CIRTL is a lead partner in the alliance, which works to advance underrepresented student success in STEM fields.

CIRTL Network Programming

CIRTL runs online courses, workshops, events, and more designed to help STEM grad students and postdocs learn effective, inclusive, evidence-based approaches to teaching and learning.

Courses

CIRTL's courses have weekly online sessions, require homework, and typically include a final project. Registration is required; STEM grad students and postdocs from CIRTL institutions receive enrollment priority. Enrolled students can choose to take courses for local credit or not; any arrangement to receive credit must be made at the student's home institution.

Basics of Online Learning and Teaching

Mondays, January 25 through March 29
3-4:30PM AT / 2-3:30PM ET / 1-2:30PM CT / 12-1:30PM MT / 11AM-12:30PM PT
Learn and apply the fundamentals of online course design in this 10-week course. Cap: 40.

Register

Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs)

CIRTL MOOCs take place on the EdX platform and use video-based modules, discussion boards, and peer-reviewed assignments to teach participants about different aspects of evidence-based STEM teaching over the course of 8 weeks. Registration is required; there is no cost to participate and no enrollment cap. For more information, visit the CIRTL MOOC website.

Advancing Learning through Evidenced-Based STEM Teaching

Weekly asynchronous modules from Monday, January 25 through Monday, March 21
Learn about developing effective, evidence-based STEM teaching practices at your own pace through online video modules and discussion boards in this 8-week MOOC developed by CIRTL Network faculty. No cap.

Register

Workshops

Workshops have live, real-time online sessions and require independent work outside of those meetings. Workshops can have one, two, or three online sessions (multi-session workshops typically have one session per week). Registration is required; STEM grad students and postdocs from CIRTL institutions receive enrollment priority.

The Graduate Roadmap: Leveraging Individual Development Plans in Academic Career Planning

Friday, February 5, 12, and 19
3-4PM AT / 2-3PM ET / 1-2PM CT / 12-1PM MT / 11AM-12PM PT
Walk through the process of developing an Individual Development Plan and applying it to your academic career in this three-part event series. No cap.

Register

Trauma-Responsive Teaching

Tuesday, February 16
2-3PM AT / 1-2PM ET / 12-1PM CT / 11AM-12PM MT / 10-11AM PT
Learn general principles and practices associated with trauma-responsive teaching in this one-session workshop. No cap.

Register

Events

Events have live, real-time online sessions; event series include a handful of events that revolve around a unifying theme in STEM teaching and learning. Events run on a drop-in basis and do not require advance registration. Participants can attend as many or as few events as they like in a given series.

Exploring and Unpacking Post-PhD Career Possibilities: Recognizing and Articulating the Value of What You’ve Learned as a Graduate Student

Details TBD
Explore your skills and strengths, and develop a unique career plan in this four-part event series intended for later stage graduate students and postdocs planning for careers in academia. No cap.

How Completing a Teaching-as-Research Project Impacted My Career: Reflections from CIRTL TAR Alumni

Thursday, March 18
2-3:30PM AT / 1-2:30PM ET / 12-1:30PM CT / 11AM-12:30PM MT / 10-11:30AM PT
Hear a panel of CIRTL alumni reflect on their experience doing a Teaching-as-Research (TAR) project - not the research they conducted, but what they learned from the process and how they leveraged their TAR project in their career - in this stand-alone, drop-in online event. No cap.

Register

CIRTL Network Teaching-as-Research Presentations

Thursday, April 15
4-5:30PM AT / 3-4:30PM ET / 2-3:30PM CT / 1-2:30PM MT / 12-1:30PM PT
Hear grad students and postdocs from across the CIRTL Network share the results of their Teaching-as-Research projects in this stand-alone, drop-in online event. No cap.

Register

Beyond CIRTL

Looking for additional professional development opportunities to build evidence-based and inclusive teaching skills? Consider these opportunities happening beyond The CIRTL Network.

"Inclusive Teaching": Creating and Sustaining Equitable Learning Environments Through Shared Values Clarification 

Friday, January 22
1:30-3PM AT / 12:30-2PM ET / 11:30AM-1PM CT / 10:30AM-12PM MT / 9:30-11AM PT
Teaching is fundamentally a relational process in which our personal and pedagogical values translate into behaviors that drive relationships with and amongst students. Values clarification engages us in deep critical reflection to identify what we value in a learning environment, the personal significance of these values, and their impact on our pedagogical choices and ways of being with our students. The values clarification process supports the creation and nourishment of affirming, equitable learning environments that bolster a strong sense of belonging and academic achievement for all learners. In this session, we will engage in values clarification, generate ideas to elicit and honor what our students value in the learning environment, and explore strategies for co-creating classroom values with students.

Register

Academic Careers & Job Postings

Higher education job openings in the US and Canada focused on STEM teaching and learning.

View more postings

About The CIRTL Network

We are a network of 38 universities in the US and Canada committed to advancing inclusive, evidence-based Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math (STEM) education.
The Center for the Integration of Research, Teaching and Learning (CIRTL) Network is committed to advancing the teaching of STEM disciplines in higher education. CIRTL has been generously supported by the National Science Foundation, the Great Lakes Higher Education Corporation, the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, and the Wisconsin Center for Education Research of the University of Wisconsin-Madison. For more information about the CIRTL Network, visit us online at www.cirtl.net or contact us at
info@cirtl.net.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *