Summer courses, institutes & workshops open for registration!

By on May 10, 2021




Sign up now to attend one of CIRTL's online courses, teaching institutes, or workshops this summer! Our programming is designed to help future and early career faculty learn inclusive, evidence-based teaching approaches while building up professional development skills to help them navigate the academic workplace. This summer, our programming cover classroom-based research, course design, mentoring, leadership, and more.

Beyond CIRTL, colleagues in the NSF-funded IUSE Initiative are launching a summer MOOC on inclusive teaching. Sign up for the MOOC and for one of its associated learning communities to deepen your knowledge of inclusive instruction!

Questions about our program? Contact us at info@cirtl.net.

Summer CIRTL Network Programming

CIRTL runs online courses, workshops, events, and more to teach STEM grad students and postdocs effective, inclusive, evidence-based approaches to teaching and learning.

Online Courses

Courses have live, real-time online sessions and require regular homework outside of those class meetings. Short courses typically meet weekly for one to two months, while full courses typically meet for two to three months. Registration is required; STEM grad students and postdocs from CIRTL institutions receive enrollment priority.

Planning Your Teaching-as-Research Project

Tuesdays, June 22 through July 27
3-4:30PM AT / 2-3:30PM ET / 1-2:30PM CT / 12-1:30PM MT / 11AM-12:30PM PT

Jumpstart your plans for a Teaching-as-Research project in this 6-week course designed to guide participants through developing a research question, identifying project methods and outcomes, and more. Cap: 20.

Register

First Year Faculty Teaching Academy

Tuesdays - Thursdays, July 13 - 15 and July 20 - 22
3:30-5:30PM AT / 2:30-4:30PM ET / 1:30-3:30PM CT / 12:30-2:30PM MT / 11:30AM-1:30PM PT

Learn teaching and learning fundamentals in this intensive 2-week course (typically 6 weeks) designed for future and early career faculty. Cap: 50.

Register

Research Mentor Training


Wednesdays, June 2 to July 7
11AM - 1PM AT / 10AM-12PM ET / 9-11AM CT / 8-10AM MT / 7-9AM PT

Develop your mentoring skills and knowledge in this intensive 5-week seminar designed for graduate students with mentoring experience. Cap: 20.

Register

Transforming Your Research Into Teaching


Wednesdays, June 16 to July 28 4-5PM AT / 3-4PM ET / 2-3PM CT / 1-2PM MT / 12-1PM PT

Learn how to build a course out of your research specialty in this 7-week course that guides grad students and postdocs through the fundamentals of course design. Cap: 20.

Register

Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs)

CIRTL MOOCs take place on the EdX platform and use video-based modules, discussion boards, and peer-reviewed assignments to teach participants about different aspects of evidence-based STEM teaching over the course of 8 weeks. Registration is required; there is no cost to participate and no enrollment cap. For more information, visit the CIRTL MOOC website.

An Introduction to Evidence-Based Undergraduate STEM Teaching

Learn about STEM teaching at your own pace through online video modules and discussion boards in this 8-week MOOC developed by CIRTL Network faculty. No cap. Registration opens May 17.

Teaching Institutes

Teaching institutes are multi-day, intensive sessions aimed at improving grad students' and postdocs' STEM teaching skills. Institutes can last several days or an entire week and can take place in person or online; the universities that host these institutes reserve a select number of seats specifically for participants from across the CIRTL Network. All institutes will take place online due to COVID-19. Registration is required; STEM grad students and postdocs from CIRTL institutions receive enrollment priority.

2021 Online Summer Institute on Scientific Teaching


Monday, July 12 through Friday, July 16 1-6PM AT / 12-5PM ET / 11AM-4PM CT / 10AM-3PM MT / 9AM-2PM PT

Get a thorough introduction to CIRTL's approach to STEM education and work with disciplinary peers to develop a microteaching project in this week-long online institute. Cap: 36.

Register


CIRTL Summer Teaching Institute at University of British Columbia


Monday, June 14 through Wednesday, June 23 1-9PM AT / 12-8PM ET / 11AM-7PM CT / 10AM-6PM MT / 9AM-5PM PT

This 8-day institute consists of teaching practice, theory application, and topical sessions specifically relevant to STEM graduate students and scholars new to teaching. Due to COVID-19 this institute will take place online. Cap: 10 CIRTL participants.

Register


The Johns Hopkins Teaching Institute


Tuesday, June 8 through Friday, June 11 9:30AM-4PM AT / 8:30AM-3PM ET / 7:30AM - 2PM CT / 6:30AM - 1PM MT / 5:30AM - 12PM PT

Learn common themes and challenges of teaching in higher ed during this 4-day institute. Due to COVID-19 this institute will take place online. Cap: 20 CIRTL participants.

Register

Workshops

Workshops have live, real-time online sessions and require independent work outside of those meetings. Workshops can have one, two, or three online sessions (multi-session workshops typically have one session per week). Registration is required; STEM grad students and postdocs from CIRTL institutions receive enrollment priority.


Exploring Diversity in Implicit Leadership Theories and Their Role in Inclusive Teaching and Learning


Monday and Thursday, July 26 and 29 2-3:30PM AT / 1-2:30PM ET / 12-1:30PM CT / 11AM-12:30PM MT / 10-11:30AM PT

Learn about implicit leadership theories (ILT) in this two-part workshop designed to help grad students and postdocs understand your own perceptions of leadership, and how those perceptions impact how you teach, how you work within departments, how you mentor, and more. Cap: 50.

Register

Events

Events have live, real-time online sessions; event series include a handful of events that revolve around a unifying theme in STEM teaching and learning. Events run on a drop-in basis and do not require advance registration. Participants can attend as many or as few events as they like in a given series.

CIRTL Network Alumni Event Series

Join us for a summer event series exploring the different kinds of careers that CIRTL alumni pursue, how their experience in CIRTL impacted their interest in different career paths, and how that experience has shaped their professional work. No cap. Schedule & registration TBD.

Beyond CIRTL

Looking for additional professional development opportunities to build evidence-based and inclusive teaching skills? Consider these opportunities beyond The CIRTL Network.

Inclusive STEM Teaching Project MOOC


7-week Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) starting June 15

Join the NSF-funded Improving Undergraduate STEM Education (IUSE) initiative for a 7-week Massive Open Online Course this summer on inclusive STEM teaching practices. The asynchronous course is designed to advance the awareness, self-efficacy, and ability of STEM faculty, postdocs, graduate students, and staff so that they may cultivate inclusive learning environments for all of their students.

Students enrolled in the MOOC have the option to join accompanying learning communities led by trained facilitators at institutions across the country. Learning communities have weekly online meetings to provide space for further discussion, reflection, and community building.

Register for the MOOC

Register for a learning community

Academic Careers & Job Postings

Higher education job openings in the US and Canada focused on STEM education.

Research Project Director, American Society for Engineering Education

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Instructional Consultant, University of Michigan Center for Research on Learning and Teaching (Open until filled)

Physics & Astronomy Visiting Lecturer, Rochester Institute of Technology (Open until filled)

Cell Biology Curriculum Fellow, Harvard Medical School (Deadline: 5/17)

Department of Evolution, Ecology and Organismal Biology Academic Coordinator, University of California Riverside (Deadline: 6/30)

View more postings

About The CIRTL Network

We are a network of 38 universities in the US and Canada committed to advancing inclusive, evidence-based Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math (STEM) education. For more information about the CIRTL Network, visit us on the web at www.cirtl.net.

Center for the Integration of Research, Teaching, and Learning
1025 W. Johnson St., Madison, WI 53706
Telephone: 608.263.0630, Fax: 608.265.0538
Email: info@cirtl.net

To unsubscribe from this list, email Shashank Kumat at kumats at uta dot edu.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *