Summer Registration Updates

By on April 28, 2021





Summer scheduling is in progress! As programming gets scheduled, we can open registration. So far, the following courses and institutes are open for registration:

Research Mentor Training (full course; starts 6/2)
The Johns Hopkins Teaching Institute (starts 6/8)
UBC CIRTL Summer Teaching Institute (starts 6/14)
Transforming Your Research Into Teaching (short course; starts 6/16)
First Year Faculty Teaching Academy (full course; starts 7/13)

Keep reading for a full list of all summer programming, and stay tuned for more registration updates in future newsletters.

Questions about our program? Contact us at info@cirtl.net.

Summer CIRTL Network Programming

CIRTL runs online courses, workshops, events, and more to teach STEM grad students and postdocs effective, inclusive, evidence-based approaches to teaching and learning.

Online Courses

Courses have live, real-time online sessions and require regular homework outside of those class meetings. Short courses typically meet weekly for one to two months, while full courses typically meet for two to three months. Registration is required; STEM grad students and postdocs from CIRTL institutions receive enrollment priority.

First Year Faculty Teaching Academy

Tuesdays - Thursdays, July 13 - 15 and July 20 - 22
3:30-5:30PM AT / 2:30-4:30PM ET / 1:30-3:30PM CT / 12:30-2:30PM MT / 11:30AM-1:30PM PT

Learn teaching and learning fundamentals in this abbreviated 2-week course (typically 6 weeks) designed for future and early career faculty. Cap: 50.

Register

Planning Your Teaching-as-Research Project

Jumpstart your plans for a Teaching-as-Research project in this 6-week course designed to guide participants through developing a research question, identifying project methods and outcomes, and more. Cap: TBD. Schedule & registration TBD.

Research Mentor Training

Wednesdays, June 2 to July 7 11AM - 1PM AT / 10AM-12PM ET / 9-11AM CT / 8-10AM MT / 7-9AM PT

Develop your mentoring skills and knowledge in this intensive 5-week seminar designed for graduate students with mentoring experience. Cap: 20.

Register

Transforming Your Research Into Teaching

Wednesdays, June 16 to July 28
4-5PM AT / 3-4PM ET / 2-3PM CT / 1-2PM MT / 12-1PM PT

Learn how to build a course out of your research specialty in this 7-week course that guides grad students and postdocs through the fundamentals of course design. Cap: 20.

Register

Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs)

CIRTL MOOCs take place on the EdX platform and use video-based modules, discussion boards, and peer-reviewed assignments to teach participants about different aspects of evidence-based STEM teaching over the course of 8 weeks. Registration is required; there is no cost to participate and no enrollment cap. For more information, visit the CIRTL MOOC website.

An Introduction to Evidence-Based Undergraduate STEM Teaching

Learn about STEM teaching at your own pace through online video modules and discussion boards in this 8-week MOOC developed by CIRTL Network faculty. No cap. Registration opens May 17.

Teaching Institutes

Teaching institutes are multi-day, intensive sessions aimed at improving grad students' and postdocs' STEM teaching skills. Institutes can last several days or an entire week and can take place in person or online; the universities that host these institutes reserve a select number of seats specifically for participants from across the CIRTL Network. All institutes will take place online due to COVID-19. Registration is required; STEM grad students and postdocs from CIRTL institutions receive enrollment priority.

2021 Online Summer Institute on Scientific Teaching

Get a thorough introduction to CIRTL's approach to STEM education and work with disciplinary peers to develop a microteaching project in this week-long online institute. Cap: 36. Schedule & registration TBD.


CIRTL Summer Teaching Institute at University of British Columbia

Monday, June 14 through Wednesday, June 23
1-9PM AT / 12-8PM ET / 11AM-7PM CT / 10AM-6PM MT / 9AM-5PM PT

This 8-day institute consists of teaching practice, theory application, and topical sessions specifically relevant to STEM graduate students and scholars new to teaching. Due to COVID-19 this institute will take place online. Cap: 10 CIRTL participants

Register

The Johns Hopkins Teaching Institute

Tuesday, June 8 through Friday, June 11
9:30AM-4PM AT / 8:30AM-3PM ET / 7:30AM - 2PM CT / 6:30AM - 1PM MT / 5:30AM - 12PM PT

Learn common themes and challenges of teaching in higher ed during this 4-day institute. Due to COVID-19 this institute will take place online. Cap: 20 CIRTL participants.

Register

Events

Events have live, real-time online sessions; event series include a handful of events that revolve around a unifying theme in STEM teaching and learning. Events run on a drop-in basis and do not require advance registration. Participants can attend as many or as few events as they like in a given series.

CIRTL Network Alumni Event Series

Join us for a summer event series exploring the different kinds of careers that CIRTL alumni pursue, how their experience in CIRTL impacted their interest in different career paths, and how that experience has shaped their professional work. No cap. Schedule & registration TBD.

Beyond CIRTL

Looking for additional professional development opportunities to build evidence-based and inclusive teaching skills? Consider these opportunities beyond The CIRTL Network.


The Postdoc Academy: Succeeding as a Postdoc

6-week Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) starting April 26

Join the Postdoc Academy for a flexible 6-week course that guides postdocs through building foundational professional development skills around career planning, resilience, and more. With nearly 5,000 participants in the prior course offerings, the Postdoc Academy invites you to connect with postdocs from around the world!

Register

Academic Careers & Job Postings

Higher education job openings in the US and Canada focused on STEM education.

Global Cyber Security Institute Associate/Full Professor, Rochester Institute of Technology (Deadline: Open until filled)

College of Engineering Technology Graphic Media Science & Technology Assistant Professor, Rochester Institute of Technology (Deadline: Open until filled)

Department of Evolution, Ecology and Organismal Biology Academic Coordinator, University of California Riverside (Deadline: 6/30)

View more postings

About The CIRTL Network

We are a network of 38 universities in the US and Canada committed to advancing inclusive, evidence-based Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math (STEM) education. For more information about the CIRTL Network, visit us on the web at www.cirtl.net.

Center for the Integration of Research, Teaching, and Learning
1025 W. Johnson St., Madison, WI 53706
Telephone: 608.263.0630, Fax: 608.265.0538
Email: info@cirtl.net

To unsubscribe from this list, email Shashank Kumat at kumats at uta dot edu.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *