This Month: Annual Teaching-as-Research Presentations!

By on April 5, 2021

 


CIRTL Newsletter Header

Join us next Thursday (April 15) to hear 17 Teaching-as-Research students from across the Network present their recently completed projects! Presenters will share their findings on improving student attitudes through active learning, effective teaching approaches in online and flipped classrooms, teaching key skills and concepts, and improving student motivation, engagement, and retention.

Featured CIRTL Network Programming

CIRTL runs online courses, workshops, events, and more to teach STEM grad students and postdocs effective, inclusive, evidence-based approaches to teaching and learning.

CIRTL Network Teaching-as-Research Presentations

Thursday, April 15
4-5:30PM AT / 3-4:30PM ET / 2-3:30PM CT / 1-2:30PM MT / 12-1:30PM PT
Hear graduate students and postdocs from across the CIRTL Network share the results of their Teaching-as-Research (TAR) projects in this online presentation session. TAR projects investigate questions about teaching and learning, including assessing the effectiveness of specific learning activities and tools, examining the learning process about a specific topic, or characterizing the student experience in the classroom. This year’s presentations feature 17 students from 11 institutions presenting across 4 concurrent panels:
Panel 1: Student attitudes & active learning
Panel 2: Online learning & flipped classrooms
Panel 3: Teaching key skills and concepts
Panel 4: Student motivation, engagement & retention
Stay tuned for next week’s newsletter where we’ll share a detailed agenda with speakers, projects, and more!

Beyond CIRTL

Looking for additional professional development opportunities to build evidence-based and inclusive teaching skills? Consider these opportunities beyond The CIRTL Network.

Inclusive STEM Teaching Project Facilitator Training

Wednesday, April 28 and Friday, April 30
3:00-6:00pm EST | 2:00-5:00pm CST | 1:00-4:00pm MT | 12:00-3:00pm PT
The NSF-funded Inclusive STEM Teaching Project
is running a facilitator training for individuals interested in assisting with this summer’s inaugural run of its Inclusive STEM Teaching MOOC (Massive Open Online Course)! Trained facilitators will be responsible for running local learning communities that give MOOC participants an opportunity to more deeply engage with course materials. The MOOC is designed to advance the awareness, self-efficacy, and ability of graduate students, postdocs, and faculty to cultivate inclusive STEM learning environments for all their students and to develop themselves as reflective, inclusive practitioners. Applications for the facilitator trainings are due Tuesday, April 6.

The Postdoc Academy: Succeeding as a Postdoc

6-week Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) starting April 26
Join the Postdoc Academy for a flexible 6-week course that guides postdocs through building foundational professional development skills around career planning, resilience, and more. With nearly 5,000 participants in the prior course offerings, the Postdoc Academy invites you to connect with postdocs from around the world!

Academic Careers & Job Postings

Higher education job openings in the US and Canada focused on STEM education.

About The CIRTL Network

We are a network of 38 universities in the US and Canada committed to advancing inclusive, evidence-based Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math (STEM) education.
The Center for the Integration of Research, Teaching and Learning (CIRTL) Network is committed to advancing the teaching of STEM disciplines in higher education. CIRTL has been generously supported by the National Science Foundation, the Great Lakes Higher Education Corporation, the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, and the Wisconsin Center for Education Research of the University of Wisconsin-Madison. For more information about the CIRTL Network, visit us online at www.cirtl.net or contact us at
info@cirtl.net.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *