[cirtl-announce] Learn Evidence-Based Approaches to STEM Teaching

By on January 14, 2019



The CIRTL Network

Basing your teaching in evidence is essential to good instruction, whether that evidence is you measuring your own impact in the classroom or knowing where to look for the latest pedagogical research. This spring, CIRTL is running two online courses, a MOOC, and two online workshops designed to guide graduate students and postdocs in STEM/SBE disciplines through evidence-based teaching in higher ed.

Looking for something else? The CIRTL Network offers a wide range of programming to provide participants with professional development and to teach them about four pedagogical fundamentals : evidence-based teaching, learning-through-diversity, teaching-as-research, and learning communities.

Questions about our programming? Contact us at info@cirtl.net.


Fall 2018 Online Courses
Courses have live, real-time online sessions and require regular homework outside of those class meetings. Short courses typically meet weekly for one to two months, while full courses typically meet for two to three months. Registration is required; STEM grad students and postdocs from CIRTL institutions receive enrollment priority.

The College Classroom (Full course)
Mondays 1/28-4/15: 1 - 2:30PM ET / 12 - 1:30PM CT / 11AM - 12:30PM MT / 10 - 11:30AM PT
Get an introduction to key learning principles and the basics of effective teaching practices in this course about teaching in the STEM college classroom. Cap: 30. Register by 1/21/19.


Engaging Students in the Teaching of Statistics (Short course)
Thursdays 3/21-4/18: 2-4PM ET / 1-3PM CT / 12-2PM MT / 11AM-1PM PT
Learn about engaging, evidence-based pedagogical practices for statistics in this short course designed for current and future instructors. Cap: 20. Register by 3/11/19.


Spring 2019 Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs)
CIRTL MOOCs take place on the EdX platform and use video-based modules, discussion boards, and peer-reviewed assignments to teach participants about different aspects of evidence-based STEM teaching over the course of 8 weeks. Registration is required; there is no cost to participate and no enrollment cap. For more information, visit the CIRTL MOOC website.

Advancing Learning through Evidence-Based STEM Teaching
Weekly asynchronous modules from 2/4 through 3/29.
Learn about developing effective, evidence-based STEM teaching practices at your own pace through online video modules and discussion boards in this MOOC developed by CIRTL Network faculty. No cap. Please note that registration is not yet open for the MOOC.


Spring 2019 Online Workshops
Workshops have live, real-time online sessions and require independent work outside of those meetings. Workshops can have one, two, or three online sessions (multi-session workshops typically have one session per week). Registration is required; STEM grad students and postdocs from CIRTL institutions receive enrollment priority.

Getting Ready To Teach in the American Classroom: Building Rapport and Effective Communication Skills Wednesday 2/6: 2-3:30PM ET / 1-2:30PM CT / 12-1:30PM MT / 11AM-12:30PM PT
Develop and practice your own strategies for effective communication with students in this case-study-based online workshop. Cap: 40. Register by 2/1/19.

Teaching with Technology Thursday 2/28: 1-2:30PM ET / 12-1:30PM CT / 11AM-12:30PM MT / 10-11:30AM PT
Develop and practice your own strategies for effective communication with students in this case-study-based online workshop. Cap: 40. Register by 2/22/19.


Resource Spotlight: CIRTL Program Evaluation Collection

Do you help to run local CIRTL programming on your campus? Our collection of CIRTL program evaluation materials might be helpful! Check out the full thing to see sample questions and guides to help you construct your own evaluation instruments.


Job Posting

STEM Postdoctoral Teaching Fellow, UMBC

Postdoctoral Fellowships, PhD studentships, and Research Assistantships available in Global Mental Health research in China

Thinking Matters Teaching Fellow, Stanford University (Deadline: 1/31/19)

To view more postings or share a new one, join our Academic Careers & Job Postings online community.


Newsletter Signup

Did someone forward our newsletter to you? Fill out our signup form to get it sent straight to your inbox!

Miss something? Read through our newsletter archives.

The CIRTL Network is committed to advancing the teaching of STEM disciplines in higher education. For more information about the CIRTL Network, visit us on the web at www.cirtl.net.

Center for the Integration of Research, Teaching, and Learning
1025 W. Johnson St., Madison, WI 53706
Telephone: 608.263.0630, Fax: 608.265.0538
Email: info@cirtl.net

Facebook logo Twitter logo LinkedIn logo YouTube logo

This material is based on work supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant No. DUE-1231286
National Sciences Foundation logo

To unsubscribe from this list, email Goutam Sarker at gsarker at uta dot edu.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *