[cirtl announce] Spring 2020 The CIRTL Network programs

By on January 24, 2020



The CIRTL Network

This spring the CIRTL Network's online programming includes 1 course, 1 MOOC, 4 workshops, 3 event offerings, and 1 peer-led learning community. This spring the CIRTL Network's online programming includes CIRTL member institutions and in STEM/SBE fields will be given priority.

Questions about our programming? Contact us at info@cirtl.net


Spring 2020 Online Courses
Courses have live, real-time online sessions and require regular homework outside of those class meetings. Short courses typically meet weekly for one to two months, while full courses typically meet for two to three months. Registration is required; STEM grad students and postdocs from CIRTL institutions receive enrollment priority.

Online Teaching Practicum
Schedule TBD
Learn how to develop a workshop for online audiences, and get the chance to pilot your workshop for the CIRTL Network, in this intensive 9-week practicum. Cap: 12. Registration TBD.


Spring 2020 Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs)
CIRTL MOOCs take place on the EdX platform and use video-based modules, discussion boards, and peer-reviewed assignments to teach participants about different aspects of evidence-base d STEM teaching over the course of 8 weeks. Registration is required; there is no cost to participate and no enrollment cap. For more information, visit the CIRTL MOOC website.

Advancing Learning through Evidenced-Based STEM Teaching
Weekly asynchronous modules from 1/27 through 3/22
Learn about developing effective, evidence-based STEM teaching practices at your own pace through online video modules and discussion boards in this MOOC developed by CIRTL Network faculty. No cap.


Spring 2020 Online Workshops
Workshops have live, real-time online sessions and require independent work outside of those meetings. Workshops can have one, two, or three online sessions (multi-session workshops typically have one session per week). Registration is required; STEM grad students and postdocs from CIRTL institutions receive enrollment priority.

Developing Equity-Minded Mentors among Faculty and Researchers
Thursday 2/27: 2-3:45PM ET / 1-2:45PM CT / 12-1:45PM MT / 11AM-12:45PM PT
Get an introduction to effective mentoring skills and learn how to apply an equity framework to mentor-mentee relationships in this one-part workshop. 26 seats left.

Facilitating Work-Life Balance and Resilience
Tuesday 2/18: 1-2:30PM ET / 12-1:30PM CT / 11AM-12:30PM MT / 10-11:30AM PT
Examine your own work-life balance, identify your support systems, and sketch out steps you can take to foster your own resilience in this one-part workshop. 24 seats left.

Writing a Diversity Statement
Wednesday 4/8 & 4/22: 12-1:30PM ET / 11AM-12:30PM CT / 10-11:30AM MT / 9-10:30AM PT
Draft a diversity statement - sought after in job applications - that incorporates your own experiences and helpful strategies in this two-part workshop. 29 seats left.

Writing an Effective Teaching Philosophy Statement
Monday 2/10 & 2/24: 12-1:30PM ET / 11AM-12:30PM CT / 10-11:30AM MT / 9-10:30AM PT
Draft a peer-reviewed teaching philosophy statement that reflects your teaching beliefs and experiences in this two-part workshop. 13 seats left.


Spring 2020 Drop-in Events
Events have live, real-time online sessions; event series include a handful of events that revolve around a unifying theme in STEM teaching and learning. Events run on a drop-in basis and do not require advance registration. Participants can attend as many or as few events as they like in a given series.

All-Network Teaching-as-Research Presentations
Thursday 4/2: 5-6:30PM ET / 4-5:30PM CT / 3-4:30PM MT / 2-3:30PM PT
Drop in on events in this three-part series to learn more about what it's like to work at a community college:
1/30: Introduction to Teaching at a Community College
2/27: Getting Hired at a Community College
3/19: Equity, Diversity, and Inclusive Teaching in the Community College Setting

Lessons Learned In the Major Professor-Graduate Student Relationship: A Conversation
Friday 1/10: 3-4PM ET / 2-3PM CT / 1-2PM MT/ 12-1PM PT
Sit in on a conversation between a professor and three of her graduate students as they discuss what they've learned over the course of their mentor-mentee relationship. No cap.


Spring 2020 Online Learning Communities
Learning communities have live, real-time online meetings and rely on participants completing related work outside of those meetings. Registration is required; STEM grad students and postdocs from CIRTL institutions receive enrollment priority. Communities may have prerequisites that participants must meet in order to take part, and they may have an additional application process to confirm participants meet those requirements.

Peer-led Teaching-as-Research Learning Community
Schedule TBD
Implementing a teaching-as-research project is significant work, but being supported by a community of peers can help. If you're interested in taking part in an online learning community made up of students across the CIRTL Network let us know here by January 13: https://forms.gle/2b4GwRZctoiTVJ4w8. Pending sufficient interest, the learning community will launch in February.

Resource Spotlight
CIRTL Help Desk: Trouble registering?
Contact our help desk at info@cirtl.net for assistance.


Teaching & Learning Spotlight
The Postdoc Academy: Succeeding as a Postdoc: Colleagues at BU, MSU, UW-Madison, and Northwestern are launching a MOOC tailored to the postdoc experience. Learn more, register and find local learning communities at the link above.


Job Postings

Assistant Biology Professor, Augustana University (Deadline: 2/15/20)

To view more postings or share a new one, join our Academic Careers & Job Postings online community.


Newsletter Signup

Did someone forward our newsletter to you? Fill out our signup form get it sent straight to your inbox!

Miss something? Read through our newsletter archives.

The CIRTL Network is committed to advancing the teaching of STEM disciplines in higher education. For more information about the CIRTL Network, visit us on the web at www.cirtl.net.

Center for the Integration of Research, Teaching, and Learning
1025 W. Johnson St., Madison, WI 53706
Telephone: 608.263.0630, Fax: 608.265.0538
Email: info@cirtl.net

Facebook logo Twitter logo LinkedIn logo YouTube logo

This material is based on work supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant No. DUE-1231286
National Sciences Foundation logo

To unsubscribe from this list, email Goutam Sarker at gsarker at uta dot edu.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *