The CIRTL Network: Fall 2020 Program Updates

By on September 9, 2020




CIRTL's MOOC on evidence-based STEM teaching is now open for registration, and we are offering an online learning community for MOOC participants who would also like to attend synchronous weekly discussion sessions to deepen engagement with course content.
Due to high interest, we're expanding the cap for our workshop on teaching with an inclusive mindset from 40 to 200; about 60 seats remain. Our event series on high-impact teaching practices and on teaching at community colleges have no cap and are open to the public with no advance registration required.

Our course on gender equity in STEM and our workshop on addressing math anxiety are at capacity.

Beyond CIRTL, this fall the Society for the Advancement of Biology Education Research is hosting a 7-part online series on building inclusive academic environments and advancing racial justice in STEM education. Read more on their website.

Questions about our programming? Contact us at info@cirtl.net.



An Introduction to Evidenced-Based STEM Teaching (MOOC)


Weekly asynchronous modules from 9/28 - 11/22


Learn about STEM teaching at your own pace through online video modules and discussion boards in this 8-week MOOC developed by CIRTL Network faculty. No cap.



Online MOOC-Centered Learning Community


Wednesdays, September 30 - November 18

4-5PM AT / 3-4PM ET / 2-3PM CT / 1-2PM MT / 12-1PM PT


Students enrolled in CIRTL's introductory MOOC can sign up for this additional learning community to engage more deeply with course content through weekly synchronous discussion sessions. Cap: 25.



Bring an Inclusive Mindset to Your Teaching (Workshop)


Wednesday, September 30

3-4:30PM AT / 2-3:30PM ET / 1-2:30PM CT / 12-1:30PM MT / 11AM-12:30PM PT


Learn about inclusive teaching approaches that build upon inclusive design frameworks, case studies, and educational research in this one-session workshop. Cap: 200.



Engaging Students through High-Impact Practices (Event Series)


12:30-1:30PM AT / 11:30AM-12:30PM ET / 10:30-11:30AM CT / 9:30-10:30AM MT / 8:30-9:30AM PT


High-impact educational practices can help deepen students' learning and make them more engaged with course content. Join us for this four-part series in October and November on different practices, how they impact student learning, and how you can incorporate them into your own teaching. No cap.

October 5: Overview of HIPs, Taxonomies, and Assessment

October 12: Global Learning and Engagement

October 19: Course-based Undergraduate Research Experiences

November 2: Using an ePortfolio to Promote Reflection and Integration of Knowledge



Exploring Careers in Teaching at a Community College (Event Series)


1-2:30PM AT / 12-1:30PM ET / 11AM-12:30PM CT / 10-11:30AM MT / 9-10:30AM PT


Join us this fall for a three-part event series on teaching at community colleges. Events in the series will feature community college faculty and instructional staff discussing the teaching and learning environment at their schools, how they teach to a broad diversity of students, and how they navigated the hiring process. No cap.

October 20: Introduction to Teaching at a Community College

November 10: Getting Hired at a Community College: Tips and Strategies from Faculty on Hiring Panels

December 1: Equity, Diversity, and Inclusive Teaching in the Community College Setting



Beyond CIRTL: Striving for Racial Justice in Academic Biology

The Society for the Advancement in Biology Education Research (SABER) is hosting a 7-part online discussion series designed to help biologists and biology education researchers build a more inclusive academic environment and advance racial justice in STEM education. The series includes four discussions and three research seminars, and all talks will be recorded and shared on the SABER site afterwards.


Additional Info

CIRTL Academic Calender

Create an account

The CIRTL Network Website

CIRTL UTA Website

Questions about CIRTL programming? Contact our help desk at info@cirtl.net.


Job Postings

To view job postings or share a new one, join our Academic Careers & Job Postings online community.


Newsletter Signup

Did someone forward our newsletter to you? Fill out our signup form to get it sent straight to your inbox!

Miss something? Read through our newsletter archives.

The CIRTL Network is committed to advancing the teaching of STEM disciplines in higher education. For more information about the CIRTL Network, visit us on the web at www.cirtl.net.

Center for the Integration of Research, Teaching, and Learning
1025 W. Johnson St., Madison, WI 53706
Telephone: 608.263.0630, Fax: 608.265.0538
Email: info@cirtl.net

Facebook logo Twitter logo LinkedIn logo YouTube logo

This material is based on work supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant No. DUE-1231286
National Sciences Foundation logo

To unsubscribe from this list, email Shashank Kumat at kumats at uta dot edu.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *